Whew! We saw the Heartbeat!

Finally, my first ultrasound day came. I was pretty nervous because I had freaked myself out. I wasn’t feeling many symptoms, and wasn’t ‘feeling’ pregnant so i started going on the internet (bad idea) and found a lot of information that stressed me out. (Why do I do this to myself)

Anyway, the first ultrasound went well, we saw our fertility doctor for our ‘last appointment’ and had the ultrasound where we saw the sack and our little peanut. The technician pointed to a flutter and told us that was the heartbeat! it was 136 beats per minute but strong and healthy. We were 7 weeks 3 days yesterday at our ultrasound but our little peanut measured at 8 weeks 2 days so our RE was pleased with that. (My pregnancy apps say our babe should be the size of a blueberry this week!)

Once you hear the heartbeat our RE said that the chance of miscarriage is low, like 3%.Mr. Truffles was so cute pumping his fist in the air (kinda like golfers do) walking out of the clinic to the car. Mr. Truffles and I told my family already (they live in town) and we are waiting to tell his family (who live out of town) and are planning a visit to see them at the end of this month at around our 10 week mark.

Mr. Truffles and I are slowly allowing ourselves to be excited. We’re planning a lot of wknd trips for ourselves, and with friends, and are slowly thinking of where we’d want to go on our big babymoon. I found Mr. Truffles reading the baby book that our RE gave us yesterday and I couldn’t help but smile. These days we often like to just sit on the couch or lay in bed imagining what it will really be like to have our baby here! We never used to allow ourselves to ‘go there’ because it would make us so sad, but already our little peanut has brought us so much joy!

We have our first appointment with our regular OBGYN on February 20th. We were recommended to a specific doctor who is known to be excellent by our RE. It was kind of an ordeal getting an appointment with her because she’s so busy but Mr. Truffles worked his magic (after I was defeated) and got us an appointment at our 10 week mark. I’m sad to be leaving my clinic because they are so responsive, so wonderful, and so professional. But I’m glad to have graduated and to be moving on.

Thanks for all your support friends!

xo, trufflelove

19 responses

  1. That is so awesome. I think the freaking out is normal. I know I did. I would sometimes wish that the symptoms would hit me like a ton of bricks. Anyways I am so incredibly happy for you and I can’t wait to hear how everything progresses. Hears to a happy and healthy 9 months!

  2. Yeah for a beautiful heartbeat!!! I am so happy for you!!!! One of the best moments in this long journey of waiting…and truly a priceless moment to share with our husbands. Sooo incredible! Where do you want to babymoon? We are currently en route to our babymoon destination of Hawaii and it feels so amazing. Definitely recommend it!! Sending you huge hugs!!

    • thank you katherine!! i just read on your blog you are thinking of trying out a new RE. I think that could be a great option. please keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

