help…

I’m constipated.

I was good at ‘going’ just last week, and then in the last few days I’ve been super constipated! the other day i woke up at 2:30am because i felt the urge to go, but couldn’t!! I haven’t taken anything yet, but when i found out that I was pregnant, my nurse sent me a form that had the medications that were safe during pregnancy. for constipation it says this:

Usually dietary changes such as use of bran cereals, whole grain breads, fruits, juices, and drinking lots of water will
relieve constipation. If you continue to have a problem, try the stool softener Colace, Metamucil, Fibercon,
Citrucel, Milk of Magnesia or Senekot. These products do not cause dependency and may be taken up to three
times daily

I have Colace  at home, and I have Metamucil so I may have to resort to that.  Anyone use any of these things that really helped them?

It’s weird though because I knew that pregnancy could cause constipation so I have been extra cautious in the foods that I have been eating. flaxseed in my oatmeal, yogurt, lots of fruits, lots of water, pomegranate, etc. ugh. constipation is the worst feeling!!!

Ugh!!

I am 6 weeks pregnant as of this past Tuesday. I hope next Thursday, which will be my first ultrasound, comes fast. I need some kind of confirmation, something, anything, to keep me in check!

11 responses

  1. I haven’t had that issue yet…it’s been the opposite. I wake up in the morning with this ridiculous urgency to GO and I literally have to zoom down the stairs..lol..on another note, can’t wait to hear updates on your seven week ultrasound!

  2. Try prunes…the nurse suggested these to me after my last surgery because constipation was a concern. They work 🙂
    Can’t wait to hear about your u/s!! It’s almost here 🙂

  3. I’ve had the same issue as roadtofertility, but lately I feel like the brakes are being applied, so I may be back on the constipation train soon! After my ER I was really constipated. I took colace twice a day and also drank a glass of warmed prune juice. The prune juice was suggested by the nurse during my transfer. She said half a glass, warmed for 30 seconds. The Colace alone wasn’t doing much, but the two combined gave me some relief within 24 hours.
    I hope you feel better!

  4. Oh man. That’s the worst! I had this problem until about 8-9wks. I had to up my fluid intake (water made me feel nauseated because elf the taste, so I drank as much lemonade as my bladder could handle) and I take a colace every night when I go to bed. I am able to go at least every other day now. At one point a
    I was only able to once a week… MAYBE! Torture. I say take at least a colace and drink as much as possible. I couldn’t stomach most fruits or prune juice. However, cranberry juice I could do… I mixed it with oj. And it helped too!

    GL at your u/s. can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  5. Colace and Metamucil were my best friends in my Lupron and very early pregnancy days. My system sorted itself out after awhile, so hopefully yours will too! A lot of people do complain about chronic constipation during pregnancy, in which case I would keep up your healthy fiber-filled diet and have Metamucil as part of your daily regimen. Good luck! It is the worst.

  6. This has been a constant problem for me as well during pregnancy. I take colace and Metamucil daily and sometimes that isn’t even enough to get things moving. I think I’m going to start adding Miralax to help. Hope you can get some relief soon!

  7. Constipation has been my main battle throughout this pregnancy. I had it BAD until about 26 weeks. I would sometimes go 4-5 days without being able to go. MISERABLE. I tried everything colace, metamucil, prunes, increasing the fiber content of my diet, exercise. I even had to take a pregnancy safe laxative once just because I felt like I was going to explode. I don’t know if it was a hormonal change or if my diet finally caught up with me, but things turned the corner right around the beginning of my 3rd trimester. I also have been eating one orange every day (my latest craving since about that time)…so I’m not sure if its the oranges or a hormonal thing but now I am very regular. Also, at the height of my constipation, I found that if I had a fiber one bar, within a day or 2 afterwards I would have success. All that insoluble fiber did me good! Anyway, I am SO sorry you are going through this. It is SOOO uncomfortable!!!

  8. I am sorry to hear you are having this issue. My hubby makes me stay on a high fiber train to prevent this and that seems to help, but I hear prune juice is by far the best. I hope things get better. Anyways good luck at your ultrasound this week. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

Leave a Reply

