FET1 Update

This FET cycle has been somewhat uneventful. No crazy stories of blood draws, or injections to speak of, but here’s where I’m at:

Summary: I’m doing a medicated FET cycle with one embryo that was of ‘fair’ quality, but in the freezing process turned into a ‘good’ quality one…. but there’s just one. So I was on birth control for about three weeks, and then started Lupron for 3 weeks today starting off on 10 units, but now decreased down to 5 units as of the 19th. On the 19th, I also started my Vivelle patches which are stickers that you stick on the trunk of your body to release estrogen. Vivelle builds the lining of your uterus because this cycle I am not producing any ovaries (due to the Lupron which suppresses ovulation). You gradually increase the number of estrogen ‘dots’ you put on the trunk of your body. I had my blood drawn to check the level of estrogen in the blood last Thursday. Everything looks good, so I am to continue on with my protocol.

Current: I am currently on 3 dots, and tomorrow I will put on 4. The estrogen dots beat injections by a gazillion. But I’m suffering from anxiety and feel anxious and stressed (especially in the shoulders) every now and then. It’s manageable though. I have been trying to hit the gym every other day or so to run and that helps.

I noticed last night that i had heaps, and I mean HEAPS of cervical mucus. Iget excited when I see cervical mucus. I suppose it’s a habit of my charting days when seeing cervical mucus would mean i would ovulate soon.  I’m glad I don’t have to deal with the ‘timing’ issue of tcc’ing right now though…

Future: I am currently on schedule. I will have a blood draw/ultrasound appointment on Friday morning. And then I will schedule my Transfer for teh 8th. I did not do this on purpose but I am super-duper excited that the timing of my Transfer is close to Veterans day which I get off from work. So I will take off Thursday (transfer day), Friday (the following day) and then have a three-day weekend to just bum around and ‘will’ my embryo to implant into my uterus. Well, that’s the plan for right now anyway. My clinic seems to think that going back to work is good for circulation and that bedrest after a transfer is a crock of poo. My RE laughed when I asked him if I should be on bedrest after my first IVF cycle saying that was ‘old’ and that I should go back to work. I dunno…we’ll see.

xo, Trufflelove

12 responses

    • that’s great! i hope your wednesday appointment is all good so you can have the green light to start! The natural FET is so nice cause it gives your body a nice little break, but you’re still ‘doing something’ so you don’t feel bad about losing time… keeping my fingers crossed for you!!

  1. My RE has the same thinking as yours. I had my transfer on Saturday and asked if I needed to stay put or take it easy and she said that lying still after a transfer is really only for good luck and that there have been studies where they put a drop of fluid into a woman’s uterus and try to get them to make it move…and they couldn’t. Who knows…I think you should do whatever you feel most comfortable with. Good luck!

    • Hmm that is so interesting. I’m so glad to hear that a study was done though. I have heard the analogy of the uterus being a peanut butter sandwich, and a pea being the embryo with the result that the pea will not move. I guess it’s more of peace of mind. I still haven’t decided what I want to do, but having a nice little break doesnt sound so bad either 😉

  2. First of all, thank you for the Liebster nomination! I haven’t blogged in a while – and I feel really bad about that – but I’ve been so sick that all I want to do is lay on the couch and sleep (and read other people’s blogs).

    Second, horray for your upcoming transfer! I’ll be praying for you that this is the lucky one that sticks. It’s meant to be with your 3-day weekend. Plus, the 8th is my dad’s birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

