Lupron and Poo

Tonight will be my Day 5 of injecting myself with Lupron, and I can already feel it in my Poo, or lack thereof.  (WARNING: this post is about, you guessed it… Poo)

My ‘normal’ routine of poo is every other day. While that may seem pretty standard to many girls (as it was for me before), I remember watching an Oprah Show where they dedicated the whole hour episode going over the importance of poo and being regular, as in every single day. I found this fascinating.  Poo is a very important part of our health and can tell us so much!

Here’s some interesting tidbits while we are on the subject:

Located below are several indications that a bowel movement is abnormal. These signs and conditions were copied and pasted from a medical site.

Blood. Frank blood in the stool is never normal, and could be a result of several conditions that range from mild, such as hemorrhoids, to serious, such as infection or colon cancer. Bloody stools should always be evaluated by a physician.

Black stools. Black, tarry stools with a foul odor can be the result of eating certain foods, taking iron supplements, or possibly from internal bleeding.

Red or maroon stools. Red or maroon stools could be from something benign, such as eating red colored foods or it could be caused by several different conditions including hemorrhoids, anal fissures, colon polyps or colon cancer, diverticular bleeding, or inflammatory bowel disease.

Green stool. Green stool may be caused by green or artificially colored foods, iron supplements, or decreased colonic transit time.

Pale or clay colored stools. Stools that appear pale or look like clay could be the result of lack of bile salt (which gives stool a brownish color), antacids, barium from recent barium enema test, or hepatitis.

If only there was a magic poo indicator of infertility… and a magic ‘fiber pill’ to remedy it….

 The first day I got to the carribean for vacation, I felt the heat instantly engulf around me as soon as I got off the plane. It was as if I was walking into a steam room or a sauna. Every nook and cranny of my body, every cell and every inch of bone was feeling warm and I could instantly feel my body relaxing. As a result, I noticed that my Poo became regular every day that I was there. It was amazing to say the least. You see, poo-ing was becames stressful at times when I would notice that I haven’t gone in a few days. And going through a previous IVF cycle where the different medications I would take messed with my poo regularity even more, made me appreciate a good clean poo when I had one. So every morning I would wake up, have some coffee, take care of business and wake up my husband with the good news “Guess what honey, I went poo again!” and we both celebrated (haha). It made me feel like my body was truly relaxing to the point that it was naturally releasing toxins out of my body and things on the inside were getting into a more healthy state.

Well now I am back and I have been on Lupron and I would say my poo-ing has not been so stellar ever since the return home. I have definitely not been going every day and it could be because I’m at home, or it could be because I’m on Lupron. The last time I was on Lupron during my IVF cycle #1, I had to take colace towards the end because my poo situation was so bad. I am determined to have a better experience this time around by drinking a lot of water and tea (since the weather is getting colder) and starting on colace a little earlier on in my Lupron cycle than the last time.  Does Lupron mess with your poo too?

-truffelove

7 responses

  1. Lupron totally messes with my poo, especially when I’m taking Follistim at the same time. I didn’t poo for like four days the last time I took them and I’m a pretty regular poo-er…sometimes up to three times a day!

  2. Yep! Lupron bound me right up. I’m a major poo-er, I’ve had IBS for years, and would usually go 3+ times a day. Lupron made me so constipated. I can’t stand not poo-ing for 1 day, and I went 2 or 3, and it was miserable.
    Colace helped me too, and Metamucil once or twice a day. Hope you start to feel better soon!

  3. Colace worked for me, but I didn’t want to start relying on it. i start drinking prune juice (warmed in the microwave — recommended by the nurse at the RE) and I also started eating kale once a day. It’s high in fiber. Seems to be working well because the progesterone stops my going!
    Hope things get flowing better for you real soon!

Leave a Reply

