Transfer Day

Yesterday was my transfer day. I was considering either going to work in the morning before heading to the clinic, or going to the gym – something I haven’t done in weeks. WEEKS! I decided to go to the gym. I walked/ran for 30 minutes, came home, ate breakfast and mr.truffles came to pick  me up. I was instructed to come with a full bladder, so I guzzled half of a sobe lifewater in the car.

We don’t wait long and we’re lead to the transfer room. The embryologist comes to chat with us.  She gave us a pic of our embies, and there were two. She said they were on the cusp of Grade A, but were considered a B so she is recommending transferring 2 embies instead of 1-which we thought for sure was going to happen given our age and the previous progress of our embies a few days ago.  We were shocked at first at the strong possibility of having twins. Mr. Truffles ask questions regarding the health of me and future babies. The RE came in and confidently said he recommends transferring 2. so we did.

The transfer itself was easy and quick. Having a full bladder was not so fun. It was cool to see the catheter going into the uterus. On our way home Mr. Truffles and I picked up some food. I ate my lunch at home and Mr. Truffles went back to work. I then zonked out for 4 hours. straight.

I’ve been taking it easy ever since. Mr. Truffles made dinner and it was nice to just sit back and relax, although I feel like I am gaining weight 😛

I’ve been feeling some light cramping here and there, sometimes more on my right side. I wonder if this is implantation cramping. I’m also back at work today. I’m nervous to think of what my reaction will be if I get a negative. What will I do? Ugh….

-truffle

10 responses

  1. Congrats on being PUPO! Glad to hear everything went well with your transfer. Praying that you see a BFP this month!

    I thought it was interesting though how you said you were able to go back to work the next day. My RE required 48 hours of bedrest for me after my transfer. It sounds nice to relax in bed or on the couch for that long but it was miserable after the first couple hours. So glad you didn’t have to do that!

    Good luck! 😀

    • Thanks so much sams!! I love PUPO! haha, it’s so cute!

      I asked my RE about bedrest too, because I’ve read about so many people being required to be on bedrest. But my RE office believes it better to move around ‘lightly’ for 3 days and then go back to normal activity. I think it has to do with blood flow? I was given the greenlight to go back to work right after, but I opted to go home and rest at least for that day :S

      • That makes sense…I’m definitely going to ask my RE why he requires 48 hours of bedrest. It was a bit much for me to handle (my back really started to ache after a few hours).

  2. Congrats on a seamless and successful transfer! I have not done IVF personally, but my good friend did back in March (she is now 22 weeks!) and they told her that moving around lightly was good, as well. Praying that you are feeling that little one getting nice and comfy for the next 8 1/2 months!! Best of luck to you! 🙂

  3. How exciting! I really really hope those are implantation cramps! (I just know already that the symptoms in the 2ww are going to drive me nuts!)

    I’m not looking forward to the full bladder thing post transfer, because I’m totally scared to move. My RE said I can get up to use the bathroom after about 10 minutes, but it seems too soon. What if they fall out?! Ha, I kid.

    I think I can go back to work the next day after retrieval, as well as after transfer.

    PS- What’s PUPO?

    • PUPO = Pregnant Until Proven Otherwise. Isnt that so cute?

      The full bladder thing was kind of an ordeal that I didn’t mention in my post. The nurse brought me 3 glasses of warm water because my bladder wouldn’t fill up. I had to wait 30 minutes to do my transfer! Oops!

Leave a Reply

