Egg Retrieval!

We got 12 eggs!

Better than the 9 they had told me a few days ago. Hopefully most of those 12 are mature and are good viable eggs. I’m eagerly waiting for the call to tell me how many fertilised.

Here is how my egg retrieval went (warning – long):
At night,I slept pretty early. I was feeling really full and had shooting pains down my legs. I definitely felt a lot of action going on in my ovaries, and this made me feel good. But as I went up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, I oddly felt light and no longer had that full feeling in my ovaries, nor did I have the shooting pains anymore. Uh oh, this got me worried. So with one eye open, in the middle of the night, I googled on my phone “what are the chances of ovulating before egg retrieval” By morning, I was full-blown worried and was in a bad mood. Ovulating before retrieval would be the worst thing that could happen to me because after all of those nightly injections, after all of that time, i would not get a friggin shot this cycle! But I was going to wait until I got to the clinic to ask the RE directly about this.

I was scheduled to be at the clinic by 11:00am. Mr. Truffles took the morning off and was working from home until I woke up, at about 9:30am.Β  It was tough for me to not wake up in the middle of the night to guzzle a glass of water, especially in the morning when I woke up as I am always thirsty and hungry the moment I wake up. Took a long hot shower while Mr. Truffles went out to get more juices for me to hydrate with afterwards. I pack my antibiotics, my progesterone, and pain medicine just in case I need to take it while I’m still at the clinic. I also pack my instructions sheet, my wallet, a juice, and a pair of socks to wear.I wanted to be comfortable after my retrieval so I wore a maxi skirt, a comfy top, and flip-flops to the clinic.

After we get there, we don’t have to wait too long before they call us in. We are brought back to the ‘recovery’ area where there is a hospital gown and cap waiting for me. The nurse also brought in a warmed blanket which was a nice touch. Then a different nurse came and introduced herself, injected a little lidocaine into my arm and stuck the IV tube in me. It felt uncomfortable but it didn’t hurt. The IV was a bit cold and I could feel it going through my veins though. The arm that the IV was in also felt a bit ‘full’ in the veins but nothing unbearable.

Then the Dr. came in to introduce himself to me and this is where I asked my question about ovulating before egg retrieval. He said that it could happen but he’s seen it happen only about 3 times a year. I told him about my shooting pains and the full feeling disappearing and he said that is a result of the HCG. Once the trigger shot is in the body, the ovaries expand a bit and get ready to ovulate before they subside again. He told me i’m good to go and not to worry. Whew! The anesthesiologist then came by and told me I would be in good hands and i wouldn’t feel a thing. yay.

Mr. Truffle leaves to do his thing and the nurse comes to walk me over to the scale (i lost a few pounds!) and then told me to go to the bathroom to empty what I might have left in my bladder. Then I walk into the surgical room and lay down. The anesthesiologist asks me what I do for a living, we chit-chat for a sec and then BAM – I’m out.

I don’t even remember how I got back to the recovery area. Did they wheel me in? because I walked myself to the surgery room. Mystery. Anyway Dr. comes in and says he got 12 and that the retrieval went beautifully I’m pretty happy. Mr. Truffle comes in and we wait there for about 40 minutes and I eat animal crackers and have some apple juice. And then we leave.

I felt a bit dizzy, but was generally feeling great! Mr. Truffles and I went to lunch and had prime beef sandwiches (my idea – I don’t know why, but I was craving this.) Then we came home and I laid down to rest and watch TV, Mr. Truffles went to work. As the day went on, I started to cramp …a lot. Right after the surgery I thought ‘wow- I don’t even need this vicodin because I am not in any pain!’ but at around 8pm, I had bad cramps and it was hard to walk around and sit down on my bum. So I took one, laid around to watch TV some more and went to sleep.

This morning I feel slightly crampy, but I feel fine and won’t be needing anymore pain medicine. I had maybe 2 spots of blood but didn’t have any after that. I’m at home today having a cup of coffee. I asked the nurse during recovery (still groggy) and she laughed and said I should live it up until transfer and enjoy m beloved coffee πŸ™‚ I’m feeling pretty good this morning so I think I’ll eat a good breakfast, take my time getting ready and head into work around noon. I’m pretty happy with how the retrieval went, but am anxious about getting the call to see how many fertilised. I’ll keep you guys updated!

-truffle

7 responses

  1. Ooh, 12 follicles, how exciting! That awesome that your retrieval went well and I am keeping you in my thoughts that everything works out in the fertilization process. YAY!

  2. Hello cycle sister! How exciting! I hope they’re all mature and all fertilize to become super healthy embryos πŸ™‚

    You’re a few weeks ahead of me, so it’s interesting to see what I have to look forward to. Good luck to you!

    • Hello! and Welcome! thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ I see you’re starting your Lupron in a few days πŸ™‚ wishing you lots of luck your cycle!

Leave a Reply

